Veggie Pot Stickers

I was very hesitant to make these tonight as I knew I’d need to make my own gluten free dough and fry them myself which always makes me nervous.  I was throughly surprised at how easy these were and how well they turned out.  My husband and I both enjoyed them and are excited to try them again in other varieties.  The pot stickers did take a little bit of time to put together but it wasn’t hard, just time consuming.  Overall I’d say the whole meal took about 2 hours but that includes 10 minutes to make the dough, 30 minutes to let it rest, 20 minutes making the filling, 30 minutes putting the pot stickers together, and about 20 minutes to cook/fry them.  I think I could probably get the time shortened some with more practice making the pot stickers but either way I’m just glad they tasted good!

Veggie Pot Stickers

Dough:  

  • 1 1/4 cups gluten free flour (I use Namaste brand)
  • 3/4 – 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tsp salt

Mix the flour and salt together.  Then create a well in the flour and slowly add the water.  Either use a mixer to kneed the dough until a soft ball forms (this is what I did) or mix by hand until dough begins to clump.  Once dough clumps begin to kneed by hand until you have a solid ball.  Once dough is ready, place in a bowl, cover with plastic wrap and allow the dough to rest for at least 30 minutes.  

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cabbage (I used green)
  • 1 cup portobello mushrooms – diced
  • 1/2 cup green onion – diced
  • 1 cup carrot – shredded
  • 4 cloves garlic – minced
  • 2 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos (you could also use soy sauce here)
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper

Prepare all your veggies and mix them in a bowl.  Next add the sesame oil, coconut amminos, and pepper.  Mix it all together and set aside.

Dipping Sauce:

  • 1/8 cup sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp coconut aminos
  • 1/2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 1/2 Tbsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic – minced

Whisk all the ingredients together and set aside.

To make the pot stickers:

1.  Roll out the dough on a floured surface as thin as possible without getting it too thin.  You don’t want it to pull apart or get holes in it when forming the pot stickers

2.  Using a large round cookie cutter (the bigger the better) cut out the wrappers for the pot stickers

3.  Place a small spoonful of the veggie filling on each wrapper and then fold over the remaining dough and seal together.  Feel free to make fancy pleats on the closure if you’d like.

4.  Heat 1/4 cup olive oil in a pan over medium heat.

5.  Add the pot stickers to the oil and begin to fry them.  Fry for about 2.5 minutes per side.

6.  Add 1/4 cup of water to the pan, reduce heat to low, and cover to allow them to steam.  You’ll need to move the pot stickers around and flip them during this time so they don’t get stuck.  Steam for about 10 minutes.

7.  When done, remove pot stickers from pan and place on a paper towel to soak up some of the oil.

8.  Serve with dipping sauce and enjoy!

Leave a comment